2024 SMPA Board Candidates Announced
The SMPA Board District #1 Seat is up for election.

The SMPA Board District #1 Seat is up for election.

As a consumer-controlled electric cooperative, San Miguel Power Association (SMPA) is overseen by a seven-member board of directors who are elected by the membership. Directors serve four-year terms. Each year, one or two directors, representing their geographic district, are elected. This year, the Board election is for District #1 and District #4.

In District #1, which includes Parts of Montrose, San Miguel, Ouray and Dolores Counties including Basin, Bedrock, Naturita, Nucla, Paradox, Redvale, Slick Rock and Uravan, two candidates, Tom Loczy and Bette Nickell are running against each other for the seat.

In District #4, which includes Parts of Montrose, Ouray and San Miguel Counties including Colona and a portions of Log Hill Village and Telluride, the incumbent director, Toby Brown is running unopposed. He will be deemed re-elected per SMPA bylaws. No ballots will be sent to voters in this district.

Electric consumers in District #1 will elect their director this year by secret ballot. Voters have three options on how to vote:

  1. They may vote using a secure online ballot. (Be sure to “whitelist” the email address noreply@directvote.net to vote and to turn off your paper ballot.) The online ballot is also accessible through the free online and mobile app, SmartHub.
  2. They may vote by mail. (Paper ballots will be mailed to all eligible voters who have not turned off their paper ballot.) Completed ballots must be received by June 5th.
  3. They may drop off ballots at the SMPA Office in Ridgway (720 N. Railroad St.) or in Nucla. (170 W. 10th Ave.) Drop-off ballots must be received by 5:30 pm on June 5th.

Results of the election will be announced at the conclusion of the online Annual Meeting, on June 6th 2024. See www.smpa.com to register.